Indiana Audubon has revealed the 2023 awardees of the Earl Brooks Conservation Award, the James H. Mason Service Award, and the Mumford and Keller Grant/Scholarship Program. The organization announced the recipients at its 125th anniversary event at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis on Saturday, Sept. 23.

Earl Brooks Conservation Awardee

Nicole Harmon, a dedicated wildlife educator and center director at Humane Indiana Wildlife, received the Earl Brooks Conservation Award for her dedication to wildlife conservation. Harmon is a conservation leader who rehabilitates injured birds, educates people about birds in Northwest Indiana, and advocates for protecting Indiana’s native bird species. Her outstanding work has not only saved many avian lives but has also encouraged many people to join the fight for bird conservation.

“This recognition represents all the hard work that the team at Humane Indiana Wildlife and I put towards rehabilitating injured and orphaned migratory birds every year from across Indiana,” said Nicole Harmon. “We are honored to have gained the trust of the birding community in Indiana to work together to conserve and protect wildlife.”

James H. Mason Service Awardee

Dr. Joanne Guttman, a retired family physician and longstanding member of Indiana Audubon, has received the James H. Mason Service Award for her exceptional dedication to the organization. Dr. Guttman’s unwavering commitment is evident in her position as a board member and in her vital contributions to the Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary. Her active involvement at Indiana Audubon’s flagship property in Connersville includes serving on the sanctuary’s committee, combating invasive species, volunteering at various organizational events, and organizing the sanctuary’s historical archives so that visirots can learn about the sanctuary’s rich history.

“I am deeply honored and humbled to receive Indiana Audubon’s Mason Service Award,” said Dr. Joanne Guttman. “I am grateful for the opportunity to make a positive impact, and I look forward to continuing our important work together.”

Mumford and Keller Grant and Scholarship Program Recipients

Indiana Audubon will also award over $10,000 in environmental grants for the Mumford and Keller Grant/Scholarship Program in 2023. The grants are offered to organizations and individuals to promote bird conservation through programs, research, and education.

“Every year we are thrilled to see our partners and fellow environmental organizations stepping up to improve Indiana for both the birds and the people who enjoy them,” said Brad Bumgardner, Indiana Audubon’s executive director.

Humane Indiana Wildlife, Richmond Parks and Recreation, Dunes-Calumet Audubon Society, Purdue Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, Indiana Division of Fish and Wildlife, the Falls of Ohio Foundation, and Friends of Clifty Falls State Park are among the organizations and individuals receiving funding in 2023.

Charles Keller and Russell Mumford are the namesakes of the Mumford and Keller Grant/Scholarship Program. Both were active in the birding community and wrote landmark birding books for the state of Indiana. Their names live on through the grants and scholarship program.


Leave a reply

2022 Copyright ©  Indiana Audubon Society, Inc.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?