Between December 14th and January 5th, hawk-eyed volunteers across the country brave various weather conditions to count birds during the annual Audubon Christmas Bird Count (CBC) each year.

Northern Cardinal By Mike Timmons

Northern Cardinal By Mike Timmons

Birders and nature enthusiasts in Indiana take part in this tradition, many rising before dawn to participate in the longest running wildlife census on the planet. Each year, the Audubon Christmas Bird Count mobilizes over 70,000 volunteer bird counters in more than 2,400 locations across the Western Hemisphere. The Audubon Christmas Bird Count utilizes the power of volunteers to track the health of bird populations at a scale that professional scientists could never accomplish alone.

Data compiled in Indiana will record every individual bird and bird species seen in a specified area, contributing to a vast citizen science network that continues a tradition stretching back more than 100 years.  IAS will be helping to provide information on the various counts and produce a summary of all counts.  Data does not need to be submitted to IAS again in 2020. lessening the burden on count compilers.  For your data to go into the larger database of CBC data, your circle needs to be an officially sanctioned National Audubon count. 



The 2022 Christmas Bird Counts will be held from December 14 to January 4. There are multiple count locations in the state of Indiana and each one has a unique date and contact person. 

To participate in a count (or two!), please visit the National Audubon Society’s interactive map. You can zoom in to Indiana and the area you would like to help with. Click on one of the circle icons to find the compiler’s contact info and reach out to participate! 

Below are some of the previous Indiana count locations. Please see the website above for the most accurate counts.

  • Big Oaks National Wildlife Refuge
  • Bremen
  • Brown County
  • Eagle Valley
  • Elkhart County
  • Fort Wayne
  • Goose Pond
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Hanover-Madison
  • Indiana Dunes (multiple counts)
  • Indianapolis
  • Jamestown/Hendricks County
  • Johnson County
  • Lafayette
  • Lake Monroe
  • Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary
  • McCormick’s Creek
  • Muncie
  • Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge
  • Newport
  • LaPorte County
  • North Liberty
  • Patoka Lake
  • Pike County
  • Pokagon
  • Richmond
  • South Bend
  • Spring Mill
  • Terre Haute
  • Tippecanoe
  • Turkey Run
  • Evansville
  • Wells County
  • Whitewater

Remember to check the National Audubon Society CBC Map for the most up to date count locations!

2022 Copyright ©  Indiana Audubon Society, Inc.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?