The purpose and objective of this Society is to engage in educational, scientific, investigative, literary, historical, philanthropic and charitable pursuits which protect and conserve our natural resources including water, air, soil, plants and wildlife, especially birds, and to stimulate in Indiana public appreciation of the values of such natural resources and the need for their conservation.

Indiana Audubon advances it’s mission through its Strategic Plan, which is updated periodically. 

Officers of the Indiana Audubon Society

The Indiana Audubon Society is governed by a Board of Directors and meet a minimum of 3 times per year. Officers are members of the Society and include a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer.

In addition, there are nine (9) elected Directors.

The immediate Past President and the publications committee chair also serve as members of the Board of Directors.

Meet our Flock


Brad Bumgardner – Executive Director 

Brad Bumgardner is the executive director for the Indiana Audubon Society and chairs the annual Indiana Dunes Birding Festival. He is the former head naturalist for the Department of Natural Resources at Indiana Dunes State Park and has a Bachelors in Science from Purdue University with emphasis on Ornithology and Environmental Education. Brad has been presented the Northwest Indiana’s top 20 under 40 business leaders award.



Sam Warren- Communications & Outreach Manager

Sam Warren is the Communications and Outreach Manager at Indiana Audubon. She helps connect people to Indiana’s birds and conservation, through programs and online resources. She was previously a 4-H coordinator in Iowa and loved leading nature related programming. She has a Bachelor’s degree from Bemidji State in Wildlife Management and a Masters from UW-Madison in Agroecology. 



Carl & Amy Wilms- MGBS Resident Manager

Carl and Amy Wilms are both co-Resident Managers at Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary. The Wilms are responsible for furthering Indiana Audubon’s mission through maintenance, research, conservation, and public outreach at the Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary. Both have served on the Indiana Audubon Board of Directors, with Carl having been a past president and secretary. Amy Wilms is the current president for the Board of Directors through 2021. The Resident Manager position will be hiring soon. Click Here to learn more.



John Godwin- MGBS Resident Caretaker

John Godwin is the Resident Caretaker at Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary.  John helps maintain the 700+ acre Bird Sanctuary and nature preserve and can be found on the sanctuary trails throughout the year, as well as assisting with IAS bird banding efforts on the property.  The resident caretaker occupies the first residence when you enter Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary.




President – Amy Wilms, Connersville

Vice President – Mike Maxwell, Indianapolis

Secretary – Mary Fox, Indianapolis

Treasurer – Josh Hill, Carmel

5th Executive Committee Member – Richard Garrett


Karen Henman, Gainesville, GA


Indiana Audubon Quarterly – Austin Broadwater

Cardinal – *John Lindsey/Sam Warren

Website – Amy Wilms

DIRECTORS (3 Year Terms)

Ends December 2021 (3)

Rhiannon Thunell, Greenwood

Philip English, Richmond

Cookie Ferguson, La Porte

Ends December 2022 (3)

Shari Schultz McCullough, Crawfordsville

Joni James, Martinsville

Richard Garrett, Greenfield

Ends December 2023 (3)

Kristen Sweinhart, Osceola

Joanne Guttman, Connersville

Tracey Setze, Bloomington

Board of Director Meetings

The Board of Directors hold three (3) meetings per year. Meeting are held:

January Meeting: January 9, 2021 – 9am – 3pm

Spring- May 1, 2021 – 1-3pm at the Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary

Fall- October 2, 2021 – 1-3pm at McCormick’s State Park, Canyon Inn


The standing committees include:
Awards: Karen Henman, Chair
Stewardship: Philip English, Chair
Nominating: Josh Hill, Chair
Membership: Shari McCollough, Chair
Field Trips: Brad Bumgardner, Co-chair/ Matt Beatty, Co-chair
Publications: John Lindsey, Chair
Indiana Bird Records: Kirk Roth, Chair
Finance: Josh Hill, Chair
Publicity: John Lindsey, Chair
Sanctuary: Bill Cummings, Chair
Indiana Dunes Birding Festival: Brad Bumgardner, Co-chair/ JP Anderson, Co-chair
Indiana Bird Town: Cookie Ferguson, Chair
Standing Rules: Kristen Sweinhart, Chair
Ethics and Personnel: Joni James, Chair
20 Year Vision: Josh Hill, Chair
Diversity and Inclusion (ad hoc): Kristen Sweinhart

These committees perform the duties as prescribed in the Standing Rules and those assigned by the President or the Board of Directors.


2021 Copyright ©  Indiana Audubon Society, Inc.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?